Flash Infos:

ECOWAS Mission Observes the Legislative Elections in Benin

2 129 Vues

The Election Observation Mission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS–EOM) to the Legislative Elections in the Republic of Benin, led by H.E. Raimundo Pereira, former President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau, observed the Legislative Elections in Benin, today January 8, 2023.

ECOWAS deployed forty (40) Election Observers to all the capitals of the twelve (12) Administrative Departments in Benin to monitor the electoral process. Speaking after observing the election process in Cotonou, H.E. Raimundo Pereira, Head of the ECOWAS-EOM, thanked the people and government of the Republic of Benin for a peaceful election. “Generally, the election was conducted in a calm and peaceful atmosphere”, he added.

The Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government is determined to accompany the people and the government of the Republic of Benin through the Legislative Elections in line with the ECOWAS Supplementary Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance of 2001.


The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established when the ECOWAS Treaty was signed by 15 West African Heads of State and Government on the 28th of May 1975 in Lagos, Nigeria. The ECOWAS region spans an area of 5.2 million square kilometres. The Member States are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.

Considered one of the pillars of the African Economic Community, ECOWAS was set up to promote co-operation and integration, leading to the establishment of an economic union in West Africa to raise the living standards of its peoples, and to maintain and enhance economic stability, foster relations-among Member States and contrib-ute to the progress and development of the African continent.

Lire aussi  La Mission de la CEDEAO observe les élections législatives au Bénin

In 2007, ECOWAS Secretariat was transformed into a Commission. The Commission is headed by the President, assisted by a Vice President, and Five Commissioners, comprising experienced bureaucrats who are providing the leadership in this new orientation. As part of this renewal process, ECOWAS is implementing critical and strategic programmes that will deepen cohesion and progressively eliminate identified barriers to full integration. In this way, the estimated 300 million citizens of the community can ultimately take ownership for the realization of the new vision of moving from an ECOWAS of States to an “ECOWAS of the People: Peace and Prosperity to All” by 2050


Votre adresse email ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués d'une étoile *


Revenir en haut de la page